The ℰlements, Pt. Two: Air Signs ♊ ♎ ♒



From Astro Dienst:

The air signs of Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are the most civilized, most social, detached, abstract, rational and, in fact, the most ‘human’ of all the signs of the zodiac because they all concern the mind and the intellect. The word ‘zodiac’ means ‘circle of animals’, and yet the air signs are symbolized by human or abstract figures, with the twins representing Gemini, the scales of justice representing Libra and the figure of the water bearer representing Aquarius. The air signs describe the left and right brain functions, the capacity to think in opposites and to weigh up opposites – a duality which is symbolized by the roman numeral II in Gemini, the two horizontal lines of Libra and the two wavy lines of Aquarius.  Air signs are impersonal – they have the gift of detachment and objectivity and the gift of perspective. As signs of social interaction, they are articulate, natural negotiators, arbitrators and communicators, able to weigh up opposites and see both sides of the coin.   The shadow for the air signs will be the element of water, the world of the emotions, which tend to be mysterious and rather murky, uncomfortable territory for air, since our emotions are so instinctive, subjective and non-verbal.   Air signs tend to ‘live in their heads’ and are often out of touch with and embarrassed by emotions. In fact, they are often ‘experts’ when it comes to relationships. They can tell you a great deal about all the different theories of emotion and feelings, but this can often be a very clever defence against actually having to feel anything for themselves.”


“Air is the element that you cannot touch or see, but it can be mysteriously contained, like blowing up a balloon. When it is contained in this way, it somehow escapes or gets stale. Air people are free and cannot be contained or this same thing will happen to them. Air is uncertain and unpredictable, it can spawn a horrendous thunderstorm with violent winds and the pressure drops and raises by the minute. Air sign people are elusive in this way, they are unpredictable and eccentric. Air is the most necessary element, being necessary to fire, earth and water. Air people live in their mind. They are caught up in their thoughts which take them high to new levels where no other element can reach, like the upper atmosphere. Here they can formulate theories, solve problems clearly and see the world below. Air people are said to be out of touch with reality, but they are also very advanced in thinking. They are very mental oriented people having a knack for intelligence but also lacking emotional depth.


The first air sign, Gemini is the most flighty, like the wind that forms a dust devil, picking up debris, swirling with it and then letting it go, exploring off to another region. When forced to slow down, it cannot for long and does not know what to do, marked by the known Gemini trait of indecisiveness. Gemini never feels complete and the Gemini, the sign of duality is always on the search for something, trying to find that one person or thing that will complete them. Gemini is the sign of communication, they want to know everybody and everything, like the wind that flows forever along the land, surrounding every nook possible on the way.


Libra is represented by air, not moving but the air that circulates slowly that we need to breathe. Bringing harmony, life and balance to the world. Libra wans to be peaceful and essential to the lives of everyone they touch, just like air. Libra wants to form relationships of balance, I give you air, you give me life. This is how important relationships are to the Libra sign.


Aquarius is the last and the highest air element. Aquarius is the powerful force that makes the world go around, like the jet stream. It has the power to change areas and it does, Aquarius is the sign of change and originality. Aquarius seeks understanding and knocking down of barriers, like the jet stream that circulates air from one corner of the world to the other essentially uniting everyone and everything. Aquarius is very unpredictable and erratic, seeking the truth from way up above the rest of the world, Aquarius is the most advanced thinker of the zodiac, like the jet stream is the highest above. Aquarius is concerned with advancing civilization and the future of mankind.”

Look at your birth chart to find which planets/elements are dominant.

To read more:

Photo from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s